Happy Birth-Day

I recently read a friend’s observation, that many mummy friends are using their child’s birthday to reflect and revisit the moments leading up to their birth. Most weeks I see at least one Facebook tribute to the time, place, feelings of childbirth.

I love hearing birth stories and have in fact recorded details of my own three deliveries so I will always remember and so I can share these intimate details with my children.

I also love reading other people’s birth stories. I am forever amazed at the power and strength of the female body; the innate knowledge of how to create, grow and birth a baby remains of constant wonderment to me. No two births are ever the same. Yet each story is bound with intense love and emotion as our bodies take control and life literally passes right through you. All the feelings we experience from fear and trepidation to pride and elation and the pure simple wondering of the incredible adventure that awaits. Creating life. Wow. I mean, WOW! I will always be proud of my body and the beautiful creations Mr H and I have welcomed to the world.

Though I remain intensely passionate and proud of my birth experiences, this year has felt different. As my children grow older, the focus is shifting.

My youngest son turned three last month. When I switched on the computer, I reflected on his day and how much our lives have changed since his birth. Earlier that week I had read several friends’ beautiful birth recollections in my Facebook news feed. As I sat and thought, I realised I have come to a point where my focus is purely on him. I will forever remember the awed moment I first set eyes on him. I will forever be ‘Mum’. But now they are their own beings. Little people. While Mr 3 is not a baby anymore, he is our third and last child. When Mr 7’s little sister was born, we had a pigeon-pair and struggled, as many do, over the will we/ won’t we bring another child into our family. Every day I feel blessed and affirmed that we made the right choice.

Mr 3 is cheeky, curious and down-right funny sometimes. He has a very old soul and a belly laugh that can make anyone smile. He has brought so much joy and connection to our family and I feel blessed this wonderful little boy chose us to be his parents.

Perhaps now I am seeing more of his world. Perhaps I am clinging on to these precious moments and willing time to slow down. Perhaps I am learning to embrace our journey together and just enjoy the amazing little being he is.

I continue to relish reading birth stories, I excitedly await news of new arrivals; and every new life I encounter reminds me of the precious bond I share with my own little people. And I am flooded with pride and infinite love.

Love you baby boy. Happy 3rd Birthday xxx

About Elissa @ Mummy Can Do

Hi! My name is Elissa. I am a teacher turned stay-at-home-mum. My husband, Mr H & I have three beautiful children, Mr 7, Miss 5 and Mr 2 who challenge and inspire me daily. I have recently entered the blogosphere to take on Debra Dane’s 52 week Simplify Your Life challenge. This is my year to step up & take action to create my best life. Looking forward to meeting people, sharing stories, being inspired and having fun! Thanks for stopping by xx
This entry was posted in Family events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

