Time, Slow down and Focus

This is my week 15 & 16 catch up post for the Simplify Your Life challenge

WEEK 15 TIME MANAGEMENT – PRIORITIES

My new priority is to set a task and achieve it. If it takes a day or a week- that’s ok. Then I can move to the next task.

Having kids (and I don’t imagine it changing, whatever their age) there are always things that come up and eat your time. The days I feel I haven’t achieved anything are actually my busiest days. They are the days I haven’t achieved what I’d hoped or planned to do, but instead the day has been consumed by toilet accidents, extra washing, spills, breaks that need fixing, unexpected visitors, sickies, etc etc- all those events that you never actually PLAN into your day.

I like looking at it like that. So I didn’t get the laundry sorted or the bathroom cleaned, but I did change the batteries in the train set, I did clean rock solid weetbix off the floor & I did cuddle and console my child when he fell over. The laundry and bathroom will be there tomorrow. And there’s always time for cuddles.

 

WEEK 16 SLOW DOWN & FOCUS

SYL Challenge for Week 16 is :  Doing less and finding focus

Three things important to me that I must do each day;

  1. Tidy kitchen
  2. Pick up in the lounge room
  3. Have dinner planned and cooked each night

If these things are done each day, then I can feel relaxed and comfortable that my home is tidy, we are eating healthily and the rest will get done when I have time.

Build breathing room into each day;

My goal is to have time out when the kids are in bed. I have been using this time to clean up, fold washing, and cook for the following day. While I feel the house is better organised, I am left tired, bored and feel trapped in Groundhog Day. By zoning this time for ME time I can read, watch a movie, be with my husband, RELAX and re-energise and work harder during the day to achieve Me time in evenings.

Focus

It is really hard for me to start and complete a task without disruption. I am a serial multi-tasker & that’s probably why I feel like I never get anything done! I have a ‘to do’ list a mile long and try to tackle lots of tasks at once… which I’ll admit is not working real well for me right now. It has occurred to me that we’ve been in our current house for 7 years and it doesn’t feel finished or organised yet. Time to focus and achieve the home I want to have.  (PS I have to add that having 2 out of 3 children at school this year has freed up a lot of thinking and action time.)

My challenge this week is to organise one wardrobe at a time and not start another job until one is finished. Looking forward to the challenge!

 

About Elissa @ Mummy Can Do

Hi! My name is Elissa. I am a teacher turned stay-at-home-mum. My husband, Mr H & I have three beautiful children, Mr 7, Miss 5 and Mr 2 who challenge and inspire me daily. I have recently entered the blogosphere to take on Debra Dane’s 52 week Simplify Your Life challenge. This is my year to step up & take action to create my best life. Looking forward to meeting people, sharing stories, being inspired and having fun! Thanks for stopping by xx
This entry was posted in Simplify Your Life 52 Week Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

