Facing Fears

Week 10 of Deb’s 52 Simplify Your Life challenge is about facing your FEARS.

Aside from the usual spider, snake, emergency room fears, I think deep within I am afraid of not being liked and not being good enough.

The more I think about it, the more I realise I am the creator and feeder of my fears.

It is an interesting thought to ponder. A lot of my actions (or lack of) keep me safe, so I never have to face my fears or step outside my comfort zone.

I fear people won’t like me; so I don’t initiate conversation.

I fear people will judge my life and choices; so I allow my house to descend into clutter-full chaos, which gives me an excuse not to invite people over.

I fear what family and friends will think of my inner voice; so I don’t share my mummy blog.

I fear I am not good enough; so I eat more, snap at loved ones, busy myself in meaningless tasks and generally sabotage my own happiness.

Why? It seems ridiculous when I read it on paper. The only expectations I am not living up to are my own. No-one else has ever told me I am not good enough. No-one has avoided me because of an untidy house (well not to my knowledge – lol). But by putting up these barriers, I am giving my fears fuel and preventing positive outcomes for myself.

I love this poem by Marianne Williamson. Who am I NOT to be fabulous? I believe every one of my children, family and friends deserve to feel happy, confident, loved and to shine. So perhaps I should change my thoughts and actions and give myself permission to do the same.

 Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.
We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant,
gorgeous, talented, fabulous?
Actually, who are you not to be? 
You are a child of God.
Your playing small does not serve the world.
There is nothing enlightened about shrinking
so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.
We are all meant to shine, as children do.
We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.
It is not just in some of us; it is in everyone.
And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously
give other people permission to do the same.
As we are liberated from our own fear,
our presence automatically liberates others.

a return to love – marianne williamson

I have loved participating in Deb’s 52 Week Simplify Your Life challenge. Some weeks are rainbows and fluffy clouds, others are much harder, delving deep within. Today I am starting to face my fears by linking up to the SYL community and sharing this post with my friends and family via facebook. This week my goal is to take myself out shopping for new clothes and to have a serious clean up at home… because I am fabulous and I deserve it! (can’t read this last sentence without smiling – might need some work on that!)

Feel free to comment, or not. I hope you are able to take something from Marianne’s poem as I have. Thanks for stopping by. E x

About Elissa @ Mummy Can Do

Hi! My name is Elissa. I am a teacher turned stay-at-home-mum. My husband, Mr H & I have three beautiful children, Mr 7, Miss 5 and Mr 2 who challenge and inspire me daily. I have recently entered the blogosphere to take on Debra Dane’s 52 week Simplify Your Life challenge. This is my year to step up & take action to create my best life. Looking forward to meeting people, sharing stories, being inspired and having fun! Thanks for stopping by xx
This entry was posted in Simplify Your Life 52 Week Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Facing Fears

  1. Miss Mandy says:

    Well done. I hope a weight has lifted off your shoulders. the variations in these challenges are great and I often find myself saying ‘this is exactly what I need to do’.

  2. Paula says:

    Love love love!!! I can really relate to your post, and i think you should be proud of your ‘mummy’ blog!!! I am afraid to initiate conversations sometimes too, but in reality people are probably happy to “have a chat” and we should just jump out of our comfort zone!!! Have fun shopping 🙂

  3. lyndal says:

    Ohhhh that line you wrote – we are the creator and feeder of our fears. Gave me chills and definitely made me stop and pause.

  4. As usual I loved this Elissa! Good on you for taking the next steps in sharing your blog, and having a clean up! Enjoy your shopping trip – you deserve it!!!

  5. Mama R says:

    I have been away and so catching up on your blog slowly but surely. I really enjoy it. Still working myself up to join this challenge! You are and always have been a beautiful person, inside and out. You are fabulous, I’m glad you see that now too x

Leave a Reply

