Letting Go, Staying True

I have really enjoyed the personal learning and discovery that has been my 52 week Simplify Your Life journey so far. Week 9’s challenge is to Go Easier on Yourself. Let go of something that is not currently serving you.

This is deeply personal and confronting for me, but I am choosing to participate fully because I know it is a stepping stone for my own greater good and I have gained so much from participating in this challenge already.

So, here goes…

LETTING GO

I recently saw an affirmation, posted on Facebook by my friend Precocious Lotus. Straight away I recognised core values I want to bestow on my children: belief in one’s self and the power of choice.

When I let it sit with me for a while, I realised this is possibly my greatest personal challenge. So then, how can I encourage authenticity and strength of character in my children when I do not accept myself?

I have many negative beliefs quietly hovering in the back of my mind, some of the more prominent being:

  • I am a failure – Being a stay-at-home mum is my full time job. Days when my house is a mess, I’ve not prepared dinner and my children are badly behaved, I feel like I am a failure and have nothing to show for my hard work or for my life.
  • I am awkward & unattractive – at a cocktail party over ten years ago, the boyfriend of a colleague said, “wow- look at you- you’re an amazon woman!” and went on to joke about my size. I had previously always hated standing out. Always the tallest girl, always in the middle of the back row in school photos. This is a strange comment that for some reason I have held on to for all these years. I have never seen him again, nor have I worn high heels since.
  • I am overweight – I have kept a beautiful dark purple dress I wore at my Hen’s night. I love the dress and have fabulous memories wearing it. It has been in the back of my wardrobe for ten years, a constant reminder of my weight gain and disappointment in my body.
  • I didn’t do enough – when my father was battling cancer, I was parenting a 1 and 3 year old, with another baby on the way. It was a constant struggle, wanting to be there and support him but also needing to be there for my young family. I will constantly question myself- could I have done more?

Breaking it down now, I can see some of this negativity comes from setting high (sometimes unachievable) expectations on myself. Others have come from silly little words and actions of others that for some reason (?) I have chosen to hold on to.

Either way, I know I can choose to change my thought patterns. I love Louise Hay and have read a lot on using positive thoughts and affirmations to create the life you desire.

And so now, as the challenge is set… I am letting these negative thoughts go. I am releasing them and refuse to hold on to them anymore. They do not serve me any useful purpose. I do not want or need these thoughts in my life.

STAYING TRUE

What matters is what I believe about me. I will create thoughts that represent me. I replace negative ramblings with positive affirmations:

  • I am a great mum. I love my children and am doing the best that I can.
  • I am beautiful and I love being tall.
  • I love myself and I deserve to be fit and healthy.
  • Some things are out of my control. I am happy doing the best I can.

My mantra this year is Just Do It.

Today I’m adding another, thanks to Deb. Stay on the path that is true to you.

This has been my link up for week 9 of Debra Dane’s 52 Week Simplify Your Life challenge. – Go Easier on Yourself. What negative beliefs are you holding on to?

**END NOTE** I am already making a conscious effort to engage positive thoughts and actions. I have recently taken action to lose weight and for our wedding anniversary (posted here) I wore my purple dress AND high heels and felt AWESOME!

About Elissa @ Mummy Can Do

Hi! My name is Elissa. I am a teacher turned stay-at-home-mum. My husband, Mr H & I have three beautiful children, Mr 7, Miss 5 and Mr 2 who challenge and inspire me daily. I have recently entered the blogosphere to take on Debra Dane’s 52 week Simplify Your Life challenge. This is my year to step up & take action to create my best life. Looking forward to meeting people, sharing stories, being inspired and having fun! Thanks for stopping by xx
This entry was posted in A better Me, Simplify Your Life 52 Week Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Letting Go, Staying True

  1. This a great post – thank you, and congratulations on replacing your negative beliefs with wonderful affirmations that are no doubt reflective of the real truth 🙂

    • Funny, as I re-read my negative thoughts on paper, I thought wow- that’s really not me. Yet these are the thoughts swirling in my head. Thank you for your comment. I will keep affirming my real truth.

  2. Elissa this is beautiful! It gave me goosebumps! I am on a similar path, in having to replace negative thoughts with the positive and it really does make a big difference. I love this “What matters is what I believe about me. I will create thoughts that represent me. I replace negative ramblings with positive affirmations”. This really resonates with me. I’m so very pleased that you got to wear your purple dress again and chose to wear high heels, I bet you looked gorgeous!

  3. Paula says:

    What a lovely and very honest post! Well done on writing it and letting go of your negative thoughts….. We all feel like failures at times, and i would bet you did EVERYTHING possible for your dad at the time, and how proud and happy you must have felt in your dress!! Well done, your journey is going great!!!

  4. Thanks Paula. Love reading your journey too. Feeling very lucky to have found this challenge & such a wonderful group of ladies participating x

  5. Mama R says:

    I love that you wore your purple dress again! I am sure you looked as beautiful as when you first did, glowing! More importantly you’re on your own path and staying true to yourself; something reading this is challenging me to do x

Leave a Reply

