Happiness Defined

This weekend, I had an incredible night away with my husband. Pure Bliss. We celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary in style- stayed at a luxurious hotel in Melbourne, had a relaxing peaceful dinner, saw a great movie at Gold Class, strolled the promenade at Southbank and admired the beautiful panoramic night views and fire balls at Crown. We re-connected with those teenagers who fell in love a long time ago and just enjoyed eachother. In the morning, we woke at our leisure to room service breakfast then ventured out for a walk through the markets. We finished our stay with an exquisite five-star lunch and made our (very relaxed) way home.

I am not a five star girl. But this entire celebration weekend, I felt happy. Inside and out. We never ever splurge like this. We rarely have time together without our kids. But 10 years of marriage is a big achievement and for the first time, I gave myself permission to enjoy myself and leave mother guilt at home.

In these moments of relaxation and enjoyment, I was able to take time to savour every moment. I don’t know when our next romantic getaway opportunity will arise so I lapped up every wonderful moment.

Now as I reflect on the weekend, I wonder how I can translate this state of pure happiness in to my daily life… I think about the little every day moments where I find happiness. And I realise I often take these for granted and do not recognise the opportunities or appreciate them when they occur.

Helping my daughter as she learns to read, listening to Mr 2s big belly laugh, being greeted with calls of Mummeeeee! on coming home. Taking a million photos of my ever growing and changing family. Taking time out in a nice hot shower, going to bed early with my husband. Belting out a new favourite song on the radio, loving when the kids can sing the classics. Exercising and going for walks with my children, feeling good in a loose jeans that used to be tight. Big hugs, big smiles… giving love and feeling loved in return.

Happiness is finding pleasure in simple moments.

Happiness is making time for the big things so you can appreciate the little things.

Happiness is being grateful and savouring this very moment that is life.

I am learning I can create my own happiness. And by taking time to enjoy life’s pleasures, I am teaching my children about happiness too. Bad things happen and we deal with them, but opportunities for happiness are everywhere, we just have to be more atuned to catching them and generating more…

 

This has been my link-up for week 8 of Deb’s 52 Weeks to Simplify Your Life challenge. Go over and have a look, you’ll be inspired too!

About Elissa @ Mummy Can Do

Hi! My name is Elissa. I am a teacher turned stay-at-home-mum. My husband, Mr H & I have three beautiful children, Mr 7, Miss 5 and Mr 2 who challenge and inspire me daily. I have recently entered the blogosphere to take on Debra Dane’s 52 week Simplify Your Life challenge. This is my year to step up & take action to create my best life. Looking forward to meeting people, sharing stories, being inspired and having fun! Thanks for stopping by xx
This entry was posted in A better Me, Simplify Your Life 52 Week Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happiness Defined

  1. Casojaha says:

    That sounds like a fantastic way to spend a 10th wedding anniversary! Lovely and indulgent, something my hubby and I really must do one day. I love your photo about happiness being the appreciation what we already have. 🙂

  2. Kirsty says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    I definitely find that the “everyday moments” are the ones that bring total happiness to my heart. 🙂

  3. dance like nobodys watching says:

    Congratulations! I loved reading this and totally agree with you. It’s nice to be reminded…

  4. Lulu says:

    What a lovely post!!!

    I love how you talked about what makes you happy when it comes to your kids- helping your daughter learn to read and your son`s laugh.

    Welcome also to the blogsphere!

  5. beth@stay calm and carry on says:

    Oooh that sounds like a glorious anniversary! Congrats on ten years! So amazing to discover that even though there are material things that can make you happy, its the little things that matter most….I definitely give a lot of credit to my kids for bringing that to my attention!! Great post!

  6. Happy Anniversary Elissa! Such a special way to celebrate. I love your three ‘Happiness is..’ quotes, they are so very true!

  7. Pingback: Letting Go, Staying True | Mummy Can Do

Leave a Reply

