Goals & Priorities

Week six of 52 week Simplify your Life challenge… setting goals and priorities

I loathe setting goals! That’s probably why I’m so unorganised… I seem to get an idea in my head, research many options, adapt whats best for me & then MUST do it NOW!!! I suppose I am an ‘all or nothing’ kind of girl. Requires instant gratification! I love check lists and get enormous satisfaction ticking things off as they are done. I suppose goal setting seems overwhelming because I have so many things I want to change and achieve. Putting all those goals on one page makes it all seem like one gigantic task, too big to tackle and gets kicked into the too hard basket.

My aim this year is to simplify. To make simple. In my quest for inspiration, I came across The Happiness Project. This article, in particular these two questions really simplified goal setting for me:

1. What would make me happier?

2. What concrete action will bring change?

It’s all about keeping it simple, right? So for this weeks challenge, I’ve chosen to focus on goals that are important to me at this moment, things that will make my life better right now. The actions are small immediate steps that will hopefully make a big difference to my life and happiness, both now and in the long term.

GOAL ACTION
To have more adventures and fun with my family
  • Go camping once per school term, mark this on calendar
  • Devote one day per month to pure family time eg day trip, zoo, playground
  • Friday night family time, eg game night, movie night, fish & chip picnic in the backyard
To maintain current weight
  • Continue to follow Dukan diet plan
  • Weekly weigh-in chart to monitor weight
  • 30 mins exercise x 3 times a week
  • Choose incidental exercise, eg park further from shops, take the stairs
To have an organised and functional home
  • Participate in 52 week Simplify your Life challenge
  • Make a list of tasks and complete one at a time eg. clear front room, organise office desk, sort family photos **may require separate mini-goals
  • Start menu planning
  • Put whiteboard in pantry to track menu plan & shopping lists
  • Sort mail/ school notes promptly
  • Fold and sort washing promptly
  • Clear the clutter!!!
To be punctual & have easier, more fluent school morning routine
  • Set uniforms, shoes, socks on bed every school night
  • Make lunches, sign notes, school hats & bags packed the night before
  • Clear dinner table, empty dishwasher, 10 minute tidy up/ check before bed EVERY night
To see friends regularly
  • Contact a friend a week, for coffee date or phone call just to say hi
  • Invite friends to a BBQ/ catch up every school holidays

I feel good about these goals & actions. They are small & manageable but will really make a big impact on our family life. Now… to get to it!

Note: On re-reading this, I realise my house sounds like chaotic filth! It’s really not that bad! But it is time to step up and get better organised, and more importantly to free up more time for the fun stuff 🙂 Do you have any ‘best’ organising tips? Has a particular project or tool helped your home run smoothly?

About Elissa @ Mummy Can Do

Hi! My name is Elissa. I am a teacher turned stay-at-home-mum. My husband, Mr H & I have three beautiful children, Mr 7, Miss 5 and Mr 2 who challenge and inspire me daily. I have recently entered the blogosphere to take on Debra Dane’s 52 week Simplify Your Life challenge. This is my year to step up & take action to create my best life. Looking forward to meeting people, sharing stories, being inspired and having fun! Thanks for stopping by xx
This entry was posted in Simplify Your Life 52 Week Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Goals & Priorities

  1. Love it yet again! Your goals are simple but effective and manageable. I particularly love your family time goals, such simple ideas to create beautiful memories and have a great time!

    I can certainly relate to the organisation of school notes. I was forever struggling to find notes and remember when things were due, so I’ve got a magnet with a bulldog clip attached to the fridge and all the school notes go on this. This way, I know exactly where they are and where I am up to. Also, as soon as I get the school newsletter I write all the upcoming dates on my kitchen calendar, so I can then glance at a month and know what’s coming up.

    I look forward to reading what you come up with to make some of the organisational goals run smoother for you 🙂

    • Thanks Melissa. I feel I have to start booking in some family time to make it a priority. Lacks spontenaity somewhat but at least it will happen! On school notes- dont you love when your son hands you a note as you head out the house that says today is Special Person day, you need to bring…. aaarggh!

      • I honestly think you are on the right track re family time though, because if you don’t plan it just doesn’t happen! I’ve got my Miss 7 into a pretty good routine of unpacking her school bag as soon as she gets in the door every day, and she knows she has to pull out her lunch box, drink bottles and any notes that are in there. I do hate, though when the school just tell kids things without sending notes home. This does not work! They don’t remember exactly what was said to them and bring home half the story, which then means I have to chase down a teacher to find out exactly what’s happening.

  2. Mama R says:

    Great post again! I particularly like the friendships one as I know I need to make more effort to see friends outside of kid activities. I think your once a week idea is brilliant. So can you and I book in a coffee date or another walk?

    I saw at a friend’s place a white board with every family member on it and a grid with all jobs, activities and days of the week. I wanted a closer look but didn’t get to it. Might have to ask her further as it seemed pretty organised!

  3. Catia says:

    I am really inspired by your goals! And don’t worry—I trust your house isn’t too bad 🙂 Peace and continued inspiration as you review and work towards your goals daily, may you never feel too overwhelmed!
    Peace and Grace,
    Catia

  4. great and realistic goals – and i don’t think your house sounds any different to the majority of people’s

    with the school stuff – what works for me is as soon as kids get home they have to unpack their bags – bring their lunch box, drink bottle and notes folder / papers to me in the kitchen, then put away their bag, hat and shoes. while they do their thing i empty the lunches and notes and see if anything needs to go back to school (if possible sign and give back to kid) and note any deadlines on my calendar. if i leave it in a pile i miss it!

Leave a Reply

