What went ‘right’ in 2011

 Always looking for inspiration and yesterday I found it! During my daily Facebook check-in, I came across a fantastic challenge: 52 weeks to simplify your life

Had a quick read, thought I’m in! and got straight onto creating a blog. There is such an immense positive energy around this challenge, I can already feel 2012 is going to be great. To simplify sounds like it should be an easy task but is something that constantly evades me. My first step in finding a better me is to take part in this challenge. Wish me luck!

Task 1 = What went right in 2011…

1. My kids… I have loved watching them grow and bond together. Their personalities are different and I love the way they connect and their interests entwine. Some days they are best friends.

2. New friends & Coffee dates… I officially became a ‘mum who does coffee dates’ & now don’t know how I ever lived without coffee or my new friends!

3. Closing family business… this has actually been an uplifting experience. I have seen an exciting new side of my mum & love the infinite opportunity it brings.

4. Spirituality and Connectedness… 2011 was slow in lots of respects, but my inner growth has multiplied infinitely- though I feel it is only just beginning.

5. Family achievements… Mr 7 is still very passionate about learning and has discovered a new talent for playing basketball and telling fart jokes. Miss 4 had a fantastic year at kinder. She has amazed me with her new-found confidence and it’s a joy to hear her laugh and enjoying life. Mr 2 (and a half) has learnt how to talk and constantly brightens my day with his cheekiness and wicked laugh.  Mr H finally got the courage to apply for a new job. We also welcomed a gorgeous new niece, who brings more love and energy to our family.

6. Me… I felt a desire to become more, to become better, to be happier. I also realised that this change can only come from me. It happened quite suddenly, and (I don’t know why) I decided to start with my weight. I am proud I lost 10.7kgs on my own and am back to my wedding weight.

In 2011 I was most grateful for family. Not many people have family they can also call their best friends.

It is also the year I started taking responsibility for my own life journey. 
And so I say… Bring on 2012!

About Elissa @ Mummy Can Do

Hi! My name is Elissa. I am a teacher turned stay-at-home-mum. My husband, Mr H & I have three beautiful children, Mr 7, Miss 5 and Mr 2 who challenge and inspire me daily. I have recently entered the blogosphere to take on Debra Dane’s 52 week Simplify Your Life challenge. This is my year to step up & take action to create my best life. Looking forward to meeting people, sharing stories, being inspired and having fun! Thanks for stopping by xx
This entry was posted in Simplify Your Life 52 Week Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What went ‘right’ in 2011

  1. Fantastic first post – welcome to a year of taking action! Congratulations on your weight loss as well – what an achievement. If you would like to share more info about how you were able to suddenly motivate yourself to do it I would love to chat (we will obviously be touching on weight loss when we get to the health and wellness part of the challenge). You cam email me on the email address attached to this comment or via the blog! Happy to have you along with us this year!

  2. Mummy Can Do says:

    Thanks so much for your comment Deb, I imagine it’s pretty crazy for you at the moment! I will send an email. Re-reading my list, I am probably most proud of the weight loss because that’s when I realized I can make change! Thanks for the challenge & inspiration. Even if it was to end today, I have learned so much already xx

    • I said that to my husband last night – i said “so much has been shared already, so many people took a brave 1st step to blog who always wanted to, so many connections and shifts in energy- that I think if i stopped right here there would still be a positive shift for many people” – but of course we will carry on)

  3. lyndal says:

    It looks like you had some great achievements in 2011 🙂 Im with you on the family comment, it is definitely one of the things I am most grateful for!

  4. The fart joke comment made me laugh 🙂 My girls are shockers for them.

    You have such a peaceful energy about you, especially when you talk about your family. Lovely.

    Congratulations on the weight loss and starting a blog!

  5. Mummy Can Do says:

    Ha ha I thought it was just 7 year old boys! Thanks for your warm comments Jayne, much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

